Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 26th, 2012

“One must maintain a little bit of summer, even in the middle of winter.”
― Henry David Thoreau

It’s funny how when the weather turns and it gets unbearably hot, that people forget the moaning they did during the month of rainfall that we had, and start begging for mercy. We are very much a being that lives in the moment, we are quick to forget what has gone before and quick to yearn for what is still to come. There is barely a moment of thought given to just then or in a minute.


In the face of adverse happenings, extreme weather, pain, illness and so on – I often find myself preserving the moment. I store it somewhere in my mind and make myself go back and visit it when times are better. That’s probably not the healthiest thing to do, in terms of one shouldn’t often revisit the bad times, but it works when trying to be grateful for what you’ve got. No, I’m not playing the ‘Pollyanna Glad Game.’

But imagine the times when you’ve felt like you won’t pull through the other side of something. Can you imagine it? I expect we all have a moment like that, where we’ve been in so much pain, or the world has been so rubbish that we can’t see a better time.

It’s when that better time arrives, that we forget we even felt that bad. If we learned to accept it, and to store the memory for future reminders and use, it wouldn’t come as a shock the next time we feel like we’re dying or that life isn’t worth living. Because we got through it before, we just forget.


Too much? It is almost 32 degrees outside. I don’t blame you. But enjoy my garden shots of a bunch of vintage keys!!

Read Full Post »