Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 18th, 2012

“I was never really insane except upon occasions when my heart was touched.”
― Edgar Allan Poe

Coffee leads to amazing things. Anybody who says it’s a nasty habit to drink coffee has obviously never stumbled across one of the most beautiful visions whilst purchasing it. I’m sure most will agree, that beautiful stretches of Poppy fields are very rare. Or at least they are for this area.

I have actually spent a good many years trying to keep a look out for the best field and the perfect photo opportunity. Now, a couple of years after immersing myself into Photography – it’s here. Whilst they are quite visible by the public from a fairly main road, it’s often difficult to stop and actually get decent shots.

I recruited my Father to take me down a track to the side of the Poppy Field (four wheel drive required) for the best vantage points!

Poppies have been used for years as a symbol of sleep, death and peace. Sleep because of the opium extracted and its effects, and death because of the common blood-red color of the red poppy amongst other reasons.

It’s day one hundred and ninety nine – I can hardly believe I’ve got that far and also congratulations to those who have been doing the challenge alongside me since the beginning of the year. It’s sometimes incredibly challenging to keep it up, especially when life gets busy and the weather isn’t so co-operative.

So for day 199, enjoy the poppy and the symbol of peace. It was actually very peaceful to be stood amongst the waving poppy heads, snapping away and figuring out the best vantage points. In the end I snapped from them all!

Read Full Post »